Krystyn Strother


The 6 Tastes of Ayurveda

What is food without taste? Taste is an important aspect in maintaining optimal health. However, many modern processed foods such as bread, cheese, and sugar trick out taste buds and we end up craving and eating unhealthy foods.

 Ayurveda approaches the subject of tastes in a systematic way of breaking each taste into their therapeutic effects. Every taste has a correlation to a physical and emotional response. The taste of sweet creates physica l satisfaction and seduction (don't tell me I'm the only one to be seduced by a chocolate chip cookie). Bitter taste tends to cause discomfort and aversion. When we create an awareness around different tastes we can begin to look more in depth at our food cravings.

The 6 Tastes of Ayurveda are as follows:

  • Astringent
  • Bitter
  • Pungent
  • Salty
  • Sour
  • Sweet

A balanced Ayurvedic diet includes all six tastes in every meal, however each individual should adjust the tastes for their own Ayurvedic constitution. If you don't know what your dosha is you can take this quick test here. For example, those with a predominately Kapha constitution will want to use less sweet taste while Vata and Pitta could benefit from using more sweet taste. This is also dependent on the balance of your dosha. See an Ayurvedic practitioner for a more in-depth look at your imbalances.

Site Design: Krystyn Strother